Day 2: Molasses Cookies

15 Dec

A few years ago, I set out to find a recipe to recreate the molasses cookies from Starbucks at home.  I’m not even sure if Starbucks still has these in stores, but they were huge, chewy, spicy and delicious.  I found this recipe online a few years ago (so it’s not my original!), but now I can’t seem to find the website I originally found it on.  I do think it’s very similar to a Cook’s Illustrated recipe though – so there’s my disclaimer!   Wherever it came from, this recipe is delicious, and molasses cookies are now one of the favorites in my family!

This year I made these cookies slightly smaller (to make them enormous like Starbucks, I used to use 1/4 cup dough for each cookie, and the recipe would make ~12 very large cookies) – this year I used closer to an 1/8 cup dough per cookie, so they are much more reasonably sized and better for holiday sharing. 

Molasses Cookies

Yield: ~30 cookies (1/8 cup dough per cookie), Time: 20 min + 12 min baking

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened (leave at room temperature or microwave very briefly – do not melt)
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar (I only had light brown on hand so I upped the molasses by a tablespoon or so)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup unsulfured molasses (spray your measuring cup with Pam beforehand so it won’t stick!)
  • 2 1/4 cup all purpose flour (level flour in measuring cup with a knife to ensure accurate measuring)
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • granulated sugar, for rolling 

Preheat the oven to 375°F.

Cream the softened butter and brown sugar (I used a stand mixer with paddle attachment but you can do it by hand or with electric mixer). 

Add the egg and molasses, increasing to high speed for 1 min.

Mix in all the remaining dry ingredients on low until just combined.

Roll dough into balls (depending on the size of cookies you want, use between an 1/8 and 1/4 cup).  Roll dough balls in granulated sugar to coat, and place on parchment-lined baking sheets (this makes clean up a breeze). 

With your fingers, slightly flatten dough balls before placing in the oven for 12 minutes (adjust time if making larger cookies).  They will start to flatten and crackle when they are close to done. 

Remove from the oven and cool on the baking sheets for a few minutes.  Remove and transfer to cooling racks.

Give cookies to Santa and anyone else you love! 

One Response to “Day 2: Molasses Cookies”

  1. Lindsay December 15, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    I’m not sure I’ve ever tried those before when you’ve made them! The first picture looks really nice and professional – but I’m guessing that glass of milk was either for Matt or a nice holiday prop!!

Leave a Reply

