Day 7: Cranberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

20 Dec

Happy Day 7!  Today I am sharing a great recipe for Cranberry Chocolate Chip Muffins, which are perfect to bake ahead and keep on hand during the holidays.  These would be great for Christmas morning or whenever company stops over.  There’s nothing better than muffins fresh out of the oven, but I also don’t like how muffins stored in Tupperware containers tend to get soggy and lose their nice chewy tops.  My solution has been making large batches of muffins and storing them in the freezer.  Reheat for 20-30 seconds in the microwave and they taste as good as new! 

These muffins are very easy to make and feel special with the addition of fresh cranberries, which are deliciously tart.  I used fresh cranberries which had been frozen.  (I thawed them by placing them in a collander and running warm water over for just a few minutes.) 

I adapted this recipe from Cooking Light, by the addition of chocolate chips (I can’t make muffins without chocolate! It’s a problem!), almonds on top for a nice crunch, and swapping some white flour for whole wheat and butter for oil.  Maybe that makes up for adding chocolate??  I hope so because these are delicious and I can’t eat just one!

Fresh Cranberry and Chocolate Chip Muffins (adapted from Cooking Light)

Time: 15 min prep + 18 min baking, Yield: 24 muffins

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 + 1/3 cup sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups fresh cranberries, roughly chopped
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (dark or semi-sweet)
  • 1 + 1/3 cup milk (I used 1%)
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup oil (vegetable or canola)
  • 2 teaspoons orange zest (I only had clementines so I used them instead)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • Slivered almonds for the tops, if desired

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.  Stir in the chopped cranberries and chocolate chips.  Make a well in the center of the mixture. 

Combine the milk, butter, oil, zest, vanilla, and eggs in a small bowl.  Add wet ingredients to center well of the dry ingredients, and stir until just moistened.  This process is important in making tender and fluffy muffins – don’t over mix!

Spoon batter into greased muffin tins (I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup to spoon the dough).    Top with sliced/slivered almonds for a nice crunch, if desired.   

Bake for 18 minutes, remove from muffin tin and cool in a wire rack.

Yum!

2 Responses to “Day 7: Cranberry Chocolate Chip Muffins”

  1. RR December 24, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I will try with white chocolate chips

  2. Marian February 3, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    I tried these muffins this week, and they are absolutely delicious. I did baked them with only 2 cups of whole wheat pastry flour, and 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and mini chocolate morsels that I had on hand. I took some to the office to share, and they were a hit!

Leave a Reply

