New Year, New Resolutions

3 Jan

Happy New Year everybody!  I apologize that it has been so long since my last recipe post, but unfortunately we had a death in the family over the holidays which kept us very occupied over the past few weeks.

I thought that today I would post about some simple New Year’s food resolutions I would like to make:

1.  Try cooking and eating more varied whole grains, like quinoa, bulgur wheat, amaranth, farro or durum wheat.  I need to break free from choosing only rice, pasta or potatoes as a starchy side dish.  I bought some quinoa today as a start, which surprisingly I’ve never made at home.  I think I’ll start by following the package directions, but I want to try to make these Spicy Quinoa Patties with the leftovers!

2. Eat more fish.  Right now, I probably eat fish (not counting other seafood like shrimp, scallops, etc) about once every 2 weeks.  I want to up that to once a week at least.  Individually frozen fish fillets are one of the best weeknight meal options, since they thaw so much more quickly than other proteins.  I almost always have them in my freezer because they are so convenient (and pretty inexpensive when you buy in bulk or when they are on sale).  I think the reason I don’t eat fish as frequently as I should is that I need more flavorful and simple ways to prepare it.  In the coming weeks I’m hoping to put together a few simple and reliable ways to cook all proteins for beginners, so hopefully this will inspire some new recipes.

3. Say no to cream and sugar.  For years I drank coffee black, and only recently did I start adding creamer or milk and sugar.  I only drink about 1 cup a day, but I did hear on the Biggest Loser that putting 2 teaspoons of each sugar and creamer in your coffee per day can add up to 10 pounds of weight gain in a year!  It’s surprising how much the little stuff adds up!  I’m not that concerned about the weight gain aspect, but more on principle, I want to try going back at least sugar-free coffee, since that’s how I used to drink it.

4. Cook new things that I’ve never tried!  I want to try new recipes at home, for things I didn’t think I could make at home.  As long as I have a good recipe and some patience, I think I (and anyone else!) can tackle making foods at home that seem difficult, like homemade pasta, braising cuts of meat I’ve never made before, barbecue ribs, roasting a whole fish, and maybe even French macaroons.  Don’t hold me to all those, but I’d love to challenge myself and push the envelope a little bit!  I promise to share if I do, unless it’s a really, really big disaster ;-)

What are your New Year’s resolutions?  Anyone else have food-related ones?

One Response to “New Year, New Resolutions”

  1. Donna Finney January 5, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    One of my favorite dishes using bulgar wheat is Tabbouleh. I use a recipe that came on the package but I alter it a bit (i do that with most recipes!) It is great by itself or as a topping on a salad or turkey sandwich. If you want the recipe I use, just let me know.

    -Donna

Leave a Reply

