Mediterranean “7 Layer” Dip

4 Jan

Need a recipe for a healthy party snack?  On New Year’s Eve we had a small party with just hors d’oeuvres, which is my ideal kind of party.  I saw the idea for this dip online somewhere, but didn’t have an exact recipe to follow, so I winged it.  It’s kind of a play on one of my favorite appetizers of all time, 7 layer taco dip, but it’s a little more current and healthy.  This recipe made enough dip to serve a large crowd.

Mediterranean “7 Layer” Dip

  • 16 ounces plain hummus (this is the large size container, and I didn’t use it all – for a smaller crowd I’d say you could get away with 8 ounces.  I used plain and I thought the dip still had plenty of flavor)
  • 8 ounces tzatziki (a Greek yogurt/cucumber sauce, which is now pretty widely available in the refrigerated section of the grocery store – again, I didn’t quite use the whole 8 ounce container)
  • 4-6 ounces crumbled Feta cheese (or to taste)
  • Assorted chopped vegetable toppings: I used black olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, bell pepper and red onion.
  • Olive oil and black pepper
  • Toasted pine nuts (optional – I didn’t have any because of the Salmonella outbreak, but I think they’d add a nice touch).
  • Pita chips or pita wedges, to serve

Spread the hummus on a large platter.  Top with a thin layer of tzatziki.

Sprinkle remaining ingredients on top.  Finish with a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of black pepper.  Serve with pita chips (I used the sea salt variety of Stacy’s) or pita bread cut into wedges.

Easy as pie.  And it kind of looks like a pizza pie.  The bonus to this being such an easy recipe was that it was even more delicious and flavorful than I would have guessed – and is definitely going to be a recipe we make again and again.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Mediterranean “7 Layer” Dip”

  1. Donna Finney January 5, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    I love this layered appetizer recipe. I will use it next time I have to bring an appetizer to an event. Taco dip is tasty, but always makes me feel so full and I hate to think about all that sour cream and cheese fat! This one seems tastier, too. Thanks, Amy.

    -Donna

  2. LL February 7, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    I made this for a Super Bowl party, but accidentally bought taboule instead of tzatziki. Still so yummy! Thanks for the much healthier alternative to Mexican 7-layer dip.

Leave a Reply

