Quinoa Cakes

12 Jan

When I made my tilapia with avocado-pineapple salsa, I made sure to cook some extra quinoa so that I would have enough leftover to try this recipe for Spicy Quinoa Patties.  I’d never even made quinoa before last week, but once I saw that quinoa patty recipe, I knew I needed to try it!  Plus, one of my New Year’s resolutions was to try cooking some new and different whole grains.

While regular quinoa is good (even better than couscous in my opinion, since I like the texture better), pan-seared quinoa cakes are even BETTER!  These patties reminded me a little of potato pancakes.  They were nutty and satisfying, and crispy on the outside, yet moist on the inside.  I think I will make extra quinoa every time I cook it so I can have these the next day!

Quinoa Cakes  adapted from here

Time: 15-20 min, Yield: ~8 patties

  • 1.5 cups cooked quinoa, cooled
  • 1 large egg, beaten before adding
  • 1/4 cup onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese (I used Swiss)
  • few tablespoons seasoned bread crumbs
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • Greek yogurt, sour cream, or tzatziki for serving, if desired

Heat olive oil in a large, heavy skillet over medium heat.

Mix all the above ingredients.  The ingredients and proportions are just a suggestion – adapt it to your taste and adjust the amount of breadcrumbs until you get a mixture that makes patties which hold together firmly (not too wet and mushy, but not too dry and crumbly).

Form into 2″ patties, place in the pan, and cook until golden brown on one side.  Flip and brown on the other side.  They will take 5-8 minutes on each side.

Serve with a dollop of Greek yogurt, sour cream, or tzatziki if desired.  A little dash of Tabasco is pretty tasty too.

Leave a Reply

