Shrimp Lettuce Wraps

13 Jan

Healthy eating isn’t easy.  For me, the best way to eat healthy, but feel satisfied, is by cooking very flavorful dishes.  And I also can’t skip on carbs or else I feel cheated (that’s why I had to include some rice noodles in these wraps, but they could easily stand without).

Hopefully this recipe does not come across as complicated, it’s really not!  When I developed it, it was basically me just throwing things into the slaw and marinade that I had on-hand.  So if you are missing an ingredient, just improvise.  There are no hard and fast rules – just make sure you have a good mix of acid and salt for the slaw (it helps it soften and get flavorful), and some citrus and spice for the shrimp.  And I apologize for the mediocre photography on this post – it’s hard for me to get good pictures at night (and wouldn’t you know it, dinner happens at night. Boo.).

Shrimp Lettuce Wraps

Yield: 2 servings, Time: 30 min inactive + 20 min active

Slaw

  • 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar (a mild Asian vinegar that’s worth having – red or white wine vinegar will work in a pinch)
  • 1/2 of a lime, juice and zest
  • 1 tablespoon oil (vegetable or canola)
  • 3 cups rainbow slaw (pre-shredded cabbage, broccoli, and carrot mix)

Combine all ingredients and let sit, refrigerated, until flavors combine, 30-60 minutes.

Shrimp:

  • 1/2 of a lime, juice and zest
  • 1/4 cup finely diced yellow onion
  • 1/4 teaspoon each: salt, cayenne pepper, cumin, ground ginger and coriander (or whatever you have on hand!)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 8-12 ounces of thawed, raw, peeled and deveined shrimp, tails removed  (*see below for shrimp-buying tips)

Combine all ingredients and allow to marinate in the fridge for 20-30 minutes.  After marinating, heat a tablespoon of vegetable oil in a medium-sized skillet.  Pour shrimp and marinade in the pan, and cook until shrimp are pink and cooked through.  Remove shrimp and let marinade cook to reduce if too liquidy.

Wraps

  • Lettuce leaves, 2-4 per person, depending on the size.  Ideally I would use Bibb/Boston lettuce, but it wasn’t looking great in the store, so I substituted iceberg
  • Rice noodles (or whatever kind of Asian noodle you like), cooked according to package directions and cooled (optional – I needed some carbs in my wrap ;-))

To assemble, place a generous heap of noodles, then slaw, then shrimp in the lettuce leaf and top with more sauce.  Healthy and delicious :)

*Shrimp Recommendations for Beginners

I like to buy frozen, raw, peeled and deveined shrimp with the tails on:

I like to buy them raw, because then you can control how you season them and how you cook them.  I prefer the already peeled and deveined shrimp, because it saves a lot of time, and quite honestly, deveining grosses me out.  Here’s a how-to video if your shrimp are not already peeled and deveined.   Usually I buy medium to large-sized shrimp, or whatever’s on sale ;-)

One Response to “Shrimp Lettuce Wraps”

  1. Lindsay January 13, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Thanks for the how to buy shrimp tutorial! And I will be buying tilapia this weeked to make the recipe you posted earlier this week!

Leave a Reply

