Orange Chocolate Chip Cookies

28 Feb

When I saw this orange chocolate chip cookie recipe on Foodgawker, and I knew I wanted to try them, especially when I read that they taste just like orange Milano cookies.   The recipe is originally from Cooking Classy, a blog I just discovered after seeing this recipe, but have quickly fallen in love with.  All the recipes look amazing and her photography skills are impeccable!  You should check it out.

Since the recipe is very similar to the chocolate chip cookie recipe I already use, I just added a little orange juice and zest to my existing recipe, and they turned out great.  Just enough orange flavor to be reminiscent of those yummy Milanos.

These cookies were (obviously) delicious hot and gooey out of the oven, but I also find that (if there are still any left), a few days down the road,  you can microwave them for 5-10 seconds to make them warm and gooey again.    And don’t forget the milk!

Orange Chocolate Chip Cookies inspired by the recipe found here

Yield: about 3 dozen

  • 2.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup Crisco
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 teaspoons fresh orange juice
  • Zest of one orange
  • 1.5 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375°F.

In a mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt, set aside.

With an electric mixer, beat butter, Crisco, and both sugars until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Beat in eggs, vanilla, orange juice and orange zest.

Add in dry ingredients and mix until just incorporated.  Stir in chocolate chips, and drop cookies onto parchment-lined cookie sheets.

Bake 7-8 minutes.  Cool on cookie sheet several minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

And don’t forget to check out my  tips and tricks for keeping homemade cookies tasting fresh for days!

4 Responses to “Orange Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Hayley February 28, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    I’m baking these right now for a group of 5th grade boys I work with at school. They smell awesome and I know they will love them. Thanks for sharing, Amy!

  2. snixykitchen March 1, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    Yum – I’ll have to adapt my chocolate chip cookie recipe to include oranges! I’ve got a million oranges from my cousin’s farm and can’t use them fast enough! Thanks for the idea.

  3. Simply Tia March 1, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    These look wonderful!! And yummy.

  4. Rose Taylor September 28, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I came across your blog as I was searching for cookies to bake today. The orange and chocolate combined is awesome. I can’t wait to make these.

Leave a Reply

