Rachael Ray’s Turkey Club Salad

6 Mar

Today’s recipe is really more of an endorsement for a Rachael Ray recipe I’ve made several times.  It’s for a very hearty Turkey Club Salad with Avocado Dressing.  Since I don’t change much about this recipe when I make it, it’s better that I just send you over to the original recipe on Food Network’s site (see below).

The one requirement I have when I eat salads for dinner is that they have to have some substance.  I don’t want to eat dinner and then be hungry an hour later!  That’s what I like about this salad – it has turkey, bacon, avocado, etc and it really satisfies.  It’s obviously not the healthiest of salads, but there are some switches you could do to make it healthier (eliminate the bacon, or use turkey bacon, reduce the EVOO in the dressing, etc).

I won’t reprint all of the original recipe, but rather give you the link and tell you about the modifications I made and some helpful hints.

Turkey Club Salad with Avocado Dressing

For the complete recipe, click here

This recipe calls for rotisserie turkey breast (which is sometimes hard to find) or store-roasted turkey breast (which is real turkey breast, cooked in the store, as opposed to lunch meat style turkey).  Last time I made this, I couldn’t find either of these in my store, so I substituted a high-quality, thick sliced (just ask at the deli), lunch meat turkey.  Rotisserie chicken or roasted chicken breast would work fine too.  The beauty of this recipe is that there’s no cooking of the meat involved.

Since I could only find lunch meat turkey, I wanted to heat it slightly, so I julienned it and then briefly browned it in a saute pan on the stove top to heat it through and give it a little color.

The original recipe also calls for pea shoots or sprouts, which I did not include.  But I did add crumbled blue cheese :-D

The last thing is the dressing.  Since I love the texture of avocados, I left some of it out of the dressing, and left it chopped on the salad instead.  I also didn’t want to use quite the whole 1/3 cup olive oil in my dressing, since that seemed like a lot of extra fat, so I used less and used a little bit of water to thin it, if needed.

Enjoy!

One Response to “Rachael Ray’s Turkey Club Salad”

  1. Lindsay March 7, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    This looks good! I like the addition of the blue cheese.

Leave a Reply

