Chicken Salad: Buffalo Style

13 Mar

Last weekend, I did one day of real cooking, and it fed us all week.  On Sunday, I made two big pots of chicken stock, which I turned into chicken noodle soup, plus leftover stock and cooked chicken.  To find out about making the chicken stock and chicken used in these recipes, please read my post on cooking Two in One: Chicken Stock and Chicken Soup.

With the leftover shredded, cooked chicken, I made two recipes: Buffalo-style chicken salad and pasta with chicken, goat cheese and asparagus.  I know, I know, it’s a lot of chicken.  And by all means, if you don’t want to be quite that chicken-intense, only make one pot of stock/soup – and you’ll be able to get at least one other chicken meal out of the extra meat.

I got the idea for this recipe when I saw some prepared “Buffalo” chicken salad at the grocery store.  Since regular chicken salad is just about the most boring thing ever, I thought making it Buffalo style was at least worth a try.  I am partial to anything Buffalo-style, since I am originally from there :).  So, I know my Frank’s hot sauce and blue cheese.  Read: blue cheese, not ranch!!

Anyway, the best part about this chicken salad recipe is that the chicken, carrots, and celery are all ingredients in the stock/soup, so if you opt to make those first and then morph them into the chicken salad,  the only things you need to buy (or may already have) are Frank’s hot sauce and blue cheese (and possibly Dijon mustard if you want to include it and/or don’t have it).  This made for a great sandwich for weekday lunches.  I found that if you sandwich the chicken salad between two pieces of lettuce, so that the bread does not come directly in contact with the chicken salad, you won’t have issues with soggy bread.  So when you make the sandwich, layer a piece of bread, then lettuce, then chicken salad, lettuce, and another slice of bread.  As always with my recipes, feel free to tweak them based on your tastes!  The level of Frank’s I include here is nice and Buffalo-tasting, but not too spicy (in my humble opinion).

Buffalo-Style Chicken Salad

Time: 10 min, Yield: 2 cups

  • ~2 cups shredded, cooked chicken (leftover from making stock, or from a store-bought rotisserie chicken)
  • 1/2 large carrot, finely diced
  • 1 large or 2 small stalks celery, finely diced
  • 2 tablespoons Frank’s Red Hot sauce (I used the “Wings” variety but any will work)
  • 3 tablespoons Blue cheese dressing
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • Salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.  Adjust Frank’s to your personal taste.  Adjust amounts of blue cheese dressing, mayo and mustard depending on the moisture of the chicken and moisture desired.  Season with salt and pepper.  Serve on bread (using lettuce leaves to help protect the bread from the moist chicken salad to prevent sogginess).

3 Responses to “Chicken Salad: Buffalo Style”

  1. Lindsay March 13, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    This looks really good to take for lunches… but I might just break down and go to Jim’s Steakout this weekend instead!

    • Amy March 13, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      By all means, if it comes down to this or Jim’s Steakout…. get Jim’s Steakout haha

  2. Donna Finney March 15, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Looks great. I will try that one.

Leave a Reply

