Individual Baked Oatmeal

23 Jan

I have been wanting to try baked oatmeal for a long time, but it wasn’t until I saw these individual baked oatmeals on Pinterest that I actually tried it – it seemed much more reasonable for 2 people to make lots of individual ones than one giant casserole of baked oatmeal, which we probably could not finish.

I don’t normally like oatmeal.  Call me crazy, but the mushy texture kind of makes me want to gag.  The only reason I eat it is because it’s healthy, so thank God I found this recipe which combines the healthfulness of the oatmeal and a much better texture!  Now I can actually enjoy my oatmeal!  The texture is more similar to a muffin: chewy on the top and soft in the center, but they contain no flour at all (so they are also gluten-free).  Plus, if you make a big batch of these babies and freeze them, it actually takes less time to heat one of these up than to make a real bowl of oatmeal!

I modified the original recipe to the ingredients I had on hand (the original recipe calls for applesauce, flaxseed and Stevia, all of which I didn’t have and didn’t miss!).  This seems like a recipe that you could really play with and customize to your likings.  Especially if you want them to be more kid-friendly (add chocolate chips or raisins!  And maybe even more sugar) or more healthy (use the flaxseed like the original recipe or experiment with sugar substitutes).  Here is the recipe that I followed (with pretty fabulous results!):

Individual Baked Oatmeal  originally from Sugar-Free Mom 

Yield: 20 muffins, Time: 20 min. active, 40 min. inactive

Please find the original recipe and ingredient list here.

My modifications:

  • Used 1 cup brown sugar, not any Stevia
  • Used 1 cup fresh blueberries (but fresh or frozen anything (like cranberries, apples, cherries etc.) would work.  Even raisins or chocolate chips or dried coconut would work, but I would probably use less than 1 cup)
  • Added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • Eliminated the flaxseed and applesauce
  • I would also suggest increasing the amount of banana if you like banana!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a large bowl, stir together the eggs, vanilla and sugar, then stir in all the fruit.

In another bowl, combine the oats, salt, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Dump the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients; stir to mix well.

Pour in the milk and stir until combined.  The mixture will be pretty soupy – and it will seem too wet, but it’s not!

Scoop mixture into paper-lined muffin cups (I sprayed mine with cooking spray too just to make sure they would come out easily) – scoop with a measuring cup and make sure they have an even amount of liquid in each cup.  See how liquidy they look before baking?  It’s weird but they’ll turn out fine, don’t worry!

Bake 35-40 minutes or until the center of each muffin is set. (Mine took 35 min)

Cool and enjoy — or freeze them in gallon freezer bags.

To reheat from frozen, just pop them in the microwave for 30-40 seconds til warmed through.

13 Responses to “Individual Baked Oatmeal”

  1. Donna January 23, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    This is great. I have the same reservations about oatmeal texture that you do. I would love to try this but would like to include the flax seed and applesauce. Can you give me the original recipe that includes them? I won’t use the stevia, though, but I am thinking that the applesauce might be able to provide some sweetness so I can cut back on sugar. And I try to put flaxseed in recipes whenever I can….Telly good GI heart health! Thanks, Amy!

  2. Amy January 23, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    The link to the original recipe is: http://moneysavingmom.com/2012/01/sugar-free-baked-oatmeal.html

    My mom made these at home already and they seem to be a crowd pleaser for all ages (Tyler loved them and so did Ted!)

    • Lindsay January 23, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

      I tired them at home as well… they were good!

    • SugarFreeMom January 24, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

      Thank you for sharing and trying my recipe I guest posted at Money Saving Mom!

      • Amy January 25, 2012 at 11:56 am #

        Thank you for the recipe!! It’s such a hit!

  3. Heidi @ Food Doodles January 24, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Cute! I love this idea – I think it’ll be perfect for my kids. I’ll have to give it a try – thanks for sharing!

  4. ourladyofsecondhelpings January 31, 2012 at 1:26 am #

    Looks right up my alley, I love oatmeal in any form! I might try cutting the recipe in half just to see how we like it.

  5. Jennifer July 1, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    Both applesauce and banana can be used to replace eggs so I wonder how it would turn out by upping the applesauce/banana and eliminating the eggs?

    • Amy July 2, 2012 at 10:07 am #

      It’s definitely worth a try! They might not hold their shape quite as well as with eggs, but if you plan to eat them with a spoon or fork anyway then I don’t think it would be a problem. Thanks for reading!

      • Crystal January 6, 2013 at 10:38 am #

        How many eggs? I am a novice cook so I need specifics. :D

      • Amy January 6, 2013 at 11:55 am #

        Hi Crystal! The specific recipe (including amounts of each ingredient) is listed here: http://moneysavingmom.com/2012/01/sugar-free-baked-oatmeal.html

        The writer of that blog requested that I not reprint the recipe here on my blog, so I’ve just listed the modifications I made and the instructions.

        Hope that helps!

  6. Jamie Shrum March 16, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    I LOVE the recipe and we are always modifying with whatever is on hand…pumpkin, apples, cinnamon chips, granola. These, in my opinion, are the ONLY way to eat oatmeal!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super bowl snacks #2. « kate achille. - February 9, 2012

    […] Some Bran Muffins (sans banana) and these little individual Baked Oatmeals. […]

Leave a comment